Framing the eels shots

IMG_8161IMG_8160IMG_8151IMG_8157

(LO1/2:) I wanted to experiment with this shot. In my storyboard this shot is flat on and so I wanted to see how a canted camera angle could increase the tension and unbalance the shot in the moments of panic and danger my character feels in this scene. I also played with the amount of ground vs sky to see what has the most impact. From my research I’ve realised that camera angles can make the audience feel a certain way (aside from the character performance / plot) – unconsciously we react to a canted angle, it pushes us off balance. Or having the eel dominate a scene will make it look large and scary whereas the girl look small and vulnerable. These photographs were a way for me to experiment and visualize it further than drawings and thumbnails.

(LO1:)In this scene from The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug Bilbo must try to receive the precious stone from a domain where the large and villainous dragon Smaug resides. I remember watching this scene and realising there is only one scene where the dragon is completely in frame, he is so large that throughout most of this we see his face of wide shots where he is cut off. To fit both the small hobbit and the dragon we have to slice the dragon off frame however it gives this illusion of size and power still.

(LO1:) Another great scene where a villain is large and the victim small is this scene from Moana (2017), where we meet the crab villain. This gives me an idea of how I can frame them together and to make the larger creature intimidating.

Eel study – A large part of the middle section for my animation is dedicated to the eel. I researched in the European Eel, the species found in English Chalk streams. They start their lives as small see through eels known as ‘glass eels’ they travel through the ocean into our waters. I wanted to focus on the eel because it’s a creature that doesn’t get enough attention – its beautiful fish that I have only appreciated after my research and study.

(LO1:) This is footage of a European Eel in UK waters. This video was great reference because it had a variety of camera angles and captured the movement of the eel well. It showed the eel in it’s natural habitat. This has helped me when animating to think about how they swim.

(LO1:) This is another video that captures the eel in this one the eel is feeding so remains still and it’s nice to see how it stay a float and also how he swims away. The eel looks very majestic and mysterious. I also really like the colours of this shot. The eel swims like ribbon, graceful and fluid.

(LO1:) This video of the Anguilla Anguilla (Latin name for the European Eel) in a tank is good reference because it shows a playful eel that moves and twists it body all over. It’s lively and captures little details of the eel’s nature. They move in a unique way to move underwater with their snake like bodies.

(LO1:) This reference video is not of the European Eel but another breed. However it’ts great reference because they move is a similar way. This large crowd of eels all move and swivel around each other creating interesting and spectacular movements. I also like the amount of close ups of the face front on- I have a scene for my animation that uses a close up and this is good reference for when I need this.

Leave a Reply

